cross-party joint mp letter



We are delighted that MPs across parties have come together to jointly start a letter asking the Prime Minister to back a UK net zero emissions target ahead of 2050. As part of the Speak Up Week of Action, we support this call for increased UK ambition and your event is the perfect time to ask your MP to join their colleagues in showing their support.

Has your MP signed up yet? Search for them below using 'Ctrl+F' (or 'Command+F' if you're a Mac user) and be sure to check back before your event or meeting as your MP will be more likely to sign up if they can see their colleagues have done so already.



Dear Prime Minister,

Net Zero Emissions

We are writing to you to welcome the announcement that the Government will ask the Committee on Climate Change (CCC) for advice on a net zero emissions target, with the aim of bringing our greenhouse gas emissions reduction target in line with the Paris Agreement.

Given the existing advice from the CCC, the likely conclusion of the upcoming Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change report, and that other countries have set net zero targets with dates between 2030 and 2050, including France, Norway, Sweden, Iceland and New Zealand, we believe this must be a target of net zero for greenhouse gases before 2050.

British ingenuity, from Isambard Kingdom Brunel to Dorothy Hodgkin, has kept the UK at the forefront of science and engineering for more than two hundred years. Setting ourselves the goal of net zero emissions will put us at the forefront of the race for investment in clean industries, creating jobs all around the UK and inspiring the next generation.

A net zero emissions target, fully implemented, will cut energy bills by improving the efficiency of our homes and businesses, it will get rid of the exhaust pipe emissions that pollute the air we breathe, and it will help to bring about the restoration of our natural habitats so they become stores of carbon, from forests to peatlands.  We can have a greener Britain with cleaner air – and by making a clean break from harmful emissions, we’ll be sending a signal to our friends and allies around the world that Britain is shouldering our responsibility and leading the fight against climate change.

Thanks to the actions of Governments of many different parties, and the cross-party consensus that exists in the UK on the need to tackle climate change, since 1992 we have led the world in emissions reductions. We can continue in this proud tradition of leadership by becoming one of the first countries in the world to set a net zero target in law. A recent poll by Opinium shows that 64% of UK adults agree the UK should aim to cut its emissions to zero over the next few decades.

The Paris Agreement commits parties to “holding the increase in the global average temperature to well below 2°C above pre-industrial levels and pursuing efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels”. In order to achieve this, we will support you in setting a before-2050 net zero greenhouse gas emissions reduction target, and hope that you will enshrine this in law within the lifetime of this Parliament.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Clarke, together with 70 MPs

Peter Aldous, Conservative Party

Richard Benyon, Conservative Party

Tom Brake, Liberal Democrats

Alex Chalk, Conservative Party

Mary Creagh, Labour Party

Alex Cunningham, Labour Party

Jonathan Edwards, Plaid Cymru

Tim Farron, Liberal Democrats

Vicky Ford, Conservative Party

Ruth George, Labour Party

Zac Goldsmith, Conservative Party

Damian Green, Conservative Party

Harriet Harman, Labour Party

James Heappey, Conservative Party

Kevin Hollinrake, Conservative Party

George Howarth, Labour Party

Peter Kyle, Labour Party

Norman Lamb, Liberal Democrats

Tony Lloyd, Labour Party

Caroline Lucas, Green Party

John Mann, Labour Party

Steve McCabe, Labour Party

Siobhain McDonagh, Labour Party

Ed Milliband, Labour Party

Madeleine Moon, Labour Party

Layla Moran, Liberal Democrats

Toby Perkins, Labour Party

Yasmin Qureshi, Labour Party

Antoinette Sandbach, Conservative Party

Tommy Sheppard, Scottish National Party

Henry Smith, Conservative Party

Nicholas Soames, Conservative Party

Jo Swinson, Liberal Democrats

David Warburton, Conservative Party

Catherine West, Labour Party

Dr Paul Williams, Labour Party

Daniel Zeichner, Labour Party

David Amess, Conservative Party

Ben Bradshaw, Labour Party

Karen Buck, Labour Party

Simon Clarke, Conservative Party

John Cruddas, Labour Party

Ed Davey, Liberal Democrats

Paul Farrelly, Labour Party

Frank Field, Labour Party

Mark Garnier, Conservative Party

Roger Godsiff, Labour Party

Helen Goodman, Labour Party

Kate Green, Labour Party

Helen Hayes, Labour Party

Wera Hobhouse, Liberal Democrats

Kelvin Hopkins, Independent

Darren Jones, Labour Party

Ben Lake, Plaid Cymru

Oliver Letwin, Conservative Party

Tim Loughton, Conservative Party

Anne Main, Conservative Party

Sandy Martin, Labour Party

Kerry McCarthy, Labour Party

Catherine McKinnell, Labour Party

Andrew Mitchell, Conservative Party

Damien Moore, Conservative Party

Ian Murray, Labour Party

Daniel Poulter, Conservative Party

Marie Rimmer, Labour Party

Virendra Sharma, Labour Party

Tulip Siddiq, Labour Party

Jeff Smith, Labour Party

Jamie Stone, Liberal Democrats

Ed Vaizey, Conservative Party

Giles Watling, Conservative Party

Matt Western, Labour Party

Dr Sarah Wollaston, Conservative Party



Plus 51 signatures from the Members of the House of Lords


If your MP hasn't signed their name to the joint MP letter yet, hosting a Speak Up event and inviting them, visiting them at their surgery, or sending them a letter or email is the perfect way to show them that you support them taking action for a cleaner future.


If your MP has signed up to the joint MP letter, say thank you! This letter is only the first step towards a cleaner future, and the more they know how much their constituents support them taking action the more likely they'll be to keep speaking up in Parliament.